Utsav Logo
Profile Pic


Book Studio Session
Book P.T. Session
Post Inspiration
Ask Question

Exploring the Intricate Tapestry of Chakra Shapes and Colours

7th Dec 2023 | Author - Antaranga Ray

In the realm of holistic well-being and spiritual balance, the concept of chakras has long been revered as a fundamental aspect of the human energy system and holds a significant place in the practice of Yoga. Originating from ancient Indian traditions, chakras are believed to be energy centers within the body that influence physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being. These energy wheels are associated with specific shapes and colours, each carrying a unique significance. In this blog, we will delve into the fascinating world of chakra shapes and colours, unravelling a fascinating tapestry that reflects the interconnectedness of mind, body, and spirit.


Crown Chakra (Sahasrara):

  • Location: Top of the head.
  • Shape: The crown chakra is often symbolized as a thousand-petaled lotus or a radiant halo, representing spiritual connection and enlightenment.
  • Colour: Violet or white is associated with the crown chakra, signifying purity, transcendence, and a connection to the divine.

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna):

  • Location: Between the eyebrows.
  • Shape: The third eye chakra is often depicted as a two-petaled lotus or a simple circle, symbolizing intuition, insight, and spiritual awareness.
  • Colour: Indigo, associated with the third eye, represents wisdom, intuition, and a deep connection to the inner self.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha):

  • Location: Throat area.
  • Shape: A sixteen-petaled lotus is linked to the throat chakra, signifying communication, expression, and purification.
  • Colour: Blue, the colour of the throat chakra, represents clarity, self-expression, and the soothing flow of energy.

Heart Chakra (Anahata):

  • Location: Center of the chest, just above the heart.
  • Shape: The heart chakra is often visualized as a twelve-petaled lotus, representing love, compassion, and balance.
  • Colour: Green is associated with the heart chakra, symbolizing harmony, growth, and a connection to nature.

 Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura):

  • Location: Upper abdomen, in the stomach area.
  • Shape: A ten-petaled lotus is commonly linked to the solar plexus chakra, symbolizing personal power and transformation.
  • Colour: Yellow, the hue of the solar plexus, signifies intellect, confidence, and the radiance of inner strength.

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana):

  • Location: Lower abdomen.
  • Shape: The sacral chakra is associated with a six-petaled lotus, representing creativity, passion, and sensuality.
  • Colour: Orange reflects the vibrancy of this chakra, embodying warmth, vitality, and the flow of energy.

Root Chakra (Muladhara):

  • Location: Base of the spine
  • Shape: The root chakra is often depicted as a four-petaled lotus flower, symbolizing stability and foundation.
  • Colour: Red, the colour of the root chakra, signifies grounding, survival, and a connection to the earth.

The intricate tapestry of chakra shapes and colours paints a vibrant picture of the subtle energy system that flows within each of us. Exploring and balancing these energy centres through practices like meditation, yoga, and mindfulness can lead to a more harmonious and fulfilling life. As we delve into the world of chakras, we embark on a journey of self-discovery and spiritual growth, unlocking the potential for holistic well-being.

Recent Post

Hi There,

We are here to help you choose right yoga or meditation for you

Have a question? Talk to us on WhatsApp.

Start Chat
Utsav Yoga